Hays County Emergency Services District No. 9 (HCESD No. 9) At Kyle Fire Department Station No. 1 210 W. Moore St., Kyle, Texas 78640 July 8, 2020 – 6:30p.m.

Budget Workshop Meeting Minutes

- 1. Call to order, establish quorum:
 - ⇒ The Budget Workshop Meeting was called to order at 6:34 p.m. and a quorum was established with Commissioners Roger Boyd, Carla Sisk, Bruce Schneider, and Diane Hervol in attendance.
 - ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call to be taken:
 - Roger Boyd Here
 - Carla Sisk Here
 - Bruce Schneider Here
 - Diane Hervol Here
 - ⇒ Commissioner Chris Baker joined the meeting at 6:36 p.m.
- 2. Public Comment: In accordance with the Texas Attorney General's opinion, any public comment that is made on an item that is not on the published final agenda will only be heard by the Board of Commissioners. No formal action, discussion, deliberation, nor comment will be made by the Board of Commissioners. Individual members of the public may speak address the board for a maximum of three minutes on items not on the current agenda, for a collective total of fifteen minutes.

Members of the public will speak on agenda items after comments are called for by the presiding officer, but before Board discussion and consideration of the item. Individuals of the public may address the board for a maximum of three minutes per person per agenda item, for a collective amount of fifteen minutes per agenda item;

- ⇒ No public comments were offered at this time.
- 3. Discussion on FY 2020-2021 budget and proposed ad-valorem tax rate and matters relating to same; and
 - ⇒ Discussion held with no action taken.
- 4. Adjourn to Regular Meeting.
 - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Bruce Schneider to adjourn the budget workshop.
 - ⇒ Meeting adjourned at 7:21 p.m.

Regular Meeting Minutes

- **1.** Call to order, establish quorum:
 - ⇒ The Regular Meeting was called to order at 7:21 p.m. and a quorum was established with Commissioners Roger Boyd, Diane Hervol, Carla Sisk, Bruce Schneider, and Chris Baker in attendance.
 - ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call to be taken:
 - Roger Boyd Here
 - Diane Hervol Here
 - Chris Baker Here
 - Carla Sisk Here
 - Bruce Schneider Here

2. Public Comment: In accordance with the Texas Attorney General's opinion, any public comment that is made on an item that is not on the published final agenda will only be heard by the Board of Commissioners. No formal action, discussion, deliberation, nor comment will be made by the Board of Commissioners. Individual members of the public may speak address the board for a maximum of three minutes on items not on the current agenda, for a collective total of fifteen minutes.

Members of the public will speak on agenda items after comments are called for by the presiding officer, but before Board discussion and consideration of the item. Individuals of the public may address the board for a maximum of three minutes per person per agenda item, for a collective amount of fifteen minutes per agenda item;

- ⇒ No Public comments were offered at this time.
- 3. Discuss and consider action for adopting declaration of disaster;
 - ⇒ Discussion held with no action taken.
- 4. Discuss and consider action on minutes of the June 17, 2020 meeting;
 - ⇒ Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Chris Baker, to approve the minutes as submitted.
 - ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
 - \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
- 5. Discuss and consider action on treasurer's report including the payment of invoices, reimbursements, and status of District's deposit of funds;
 - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Chris Baker, to accept the payment of invoices as submitted.
 - ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
 - \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
 - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Chris Baker, to accept the treasurer's report.
 - ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
 - \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
- **6.** Receive and approve quarterly investment reports for 2nd and 3rd quarters;
 - ⇒ Motion by Chris Baker, seconded by Diane Hervol, to accept the 2nd and 3rd quarter investment reports.
 - ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:

- Diane Hervol Aye
- Bruce Schneider Aye
- Carla Sisk Aye
- Chris Baker Aye
- Roger Boyd Aye
- \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
- 7. Discuss and consider service provider contract renewals and/or amendments;
 - ⇒ Discussion held with no action taken.
- **8.** Receive monthly report from Chief Smith with SMHCEMS regarding emergency operation, response times, call volume, training, management activities, and membership;
 - ⇒ Presentation by Chief Smith, Deputy Chief Swisher, Matthew Weinberg, and Jolind Tays.
 - ⇒ Discussion held with no action taken.
- **9.** Discussion and possible action on proposed budget for FY 2020-2021 and matters relating to same, with possible action to determine proposed ad-valorem tax rate for FY 2020-2021;
 - ⇒ Discussion held with no action taken.
- 10. Discuss time, place, date, and agenda items for next meeting; and
 - ⇒ A Special Meeting will take place on Wednesday, July 29, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. at the Kyle Fire Department Station No. 1 located at 210 W. Moore St., Kyle, Texas 78640.
 - ⇒ A Regular Meeting will take place on Wednesday, August 12, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. at the Kyle Fire Department Station No. 1 located at 210 W. Moore St., Kyle, Texas 78640.

11. Adjourn.

⇒ Meeting adjourned at 8:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hervol, Secretary HCESD No. 9