.Hays County Emergency Services District No. 9 (HCESD No. 9) At Kyle Fire Department Station No. 1 210 W. Moore St., Kyle, Texas 78640 August 12, 2020 – 6:30p.m.

Regular Meeting Minutes

- **1.** Call to order, establish quorum:
 - ⇒ The Regular Meeting was called to order at 6:35 p.m. and a quorum was established with Commissioners Diane Hervol, Carla Sisk, Bruce Schneider, Chris Baker, and Roger Boyd in attendance.
 - ⇒ Secretary Diane Hervol called for a roll call to be taken:
 - Carla Sisk Here
 - Bruce Schneider Here
 - Chris Baker Here
 - Roger Boyd Here
 - Diane Hervol Here
- 2. Public Comment: In accordance with the Texas Attorney General's opinion, any public comment that is made on an item that is not on the published final agenda will only be heard by the Board of Commissioners. No formal action, discussion, deliberation, nor comment will be made by the Board of Commissioners. Individual members of the public may speak address the board for a maximum of three minutes on items not on the current agenda, for a collective total of fifteen minutes.

Members of the public will speak on agenda items after comments are called for by the presiding officer, but before Board discussion and consideration of the item. Individuals of the public may address the board for a maximum of three minutes per person per agenda item, for a collective amount of fifteen minutes per agenda item;

- ⇒ No public comments were offered at this time.
- 3. Discuss and consider action on minutes of the July 8, 2020 and the July 29, 2020 meetings;
 - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Chris Baker, to approve the minutes from July 8, 2020 and July 29, 2020 as submitted.
 - ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Chris Baker Ave
 - Roger Boyd Aye
 - \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
- **4.** Discuss and consider action on treasurer's report including the payment of invoices, reimbursements, and status of District's deposit of funds;
 - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Bruce Schneider, to accept the treasurer's report.
 - ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Carla Sisk Ave
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Diane Hervol Aye

- Roger Boyd Aye
- \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
- ⇒ Motion by Bruce Schneider, seconded by Diane Hervol, to accept the payment of invoices as submitted.
- ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
- \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).

At this time, Board President Roger Boyd moved to Agenda Item No. 6

- 6. Consider taking action regarding FY 2020-2021 budget;
 - ⇒ Discussion held with action taken to make changes to reflect the tax revenue projection and the changes requested by the board members to reduce FY 2020-2021 budget by \$23,000.00. This item to be tabled until next board meeting.

At this time, Board President Roger Boyd moved back to Agenda Item No. 5

- 5. Consider taking action regarding extension and/or revisions to service provider contract;
 - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Chris Baker to approve the amendment to the agreement of Emergency Services Contract.
 - ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
 - \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).

At this time, Board President Roger Boyd returned to posted Agenda Item order

- 7. Discuss and consider taking action regarding 2020 tax rate, including;
 - a) establishing proposed tax rate;
 - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Carla Sisk to propose the tax rate of \$0.0598.
 - ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
 - \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
 - b) authorizing publication of "Notice of Meeting on Tax Rate" in Hays Free Press and San Marcos Daily Record; and
 - c) acknowledging and approving posting of tax rate notice and "Notice of Meeting on Tax Rate" to home page of District website.
 - ⇒ Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Chris Baker to approve 7b) and 7c) as submitted.

- ⇒ President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
- \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
- **8.** Receive monthly report from Chief Smith with SMHCEMS regarding emergency operation, response times, call volume, training, management activities, and membership;
 - ⇒ Presentation by Chief Smith, Deputy Chief Swisher, Matthew Weinberg, and Jolind Tays.
 - ⇒ Discussion held with no action taken.
- 9. Discuss time, place, date, and agenda items for next meeting; and
 - ⇒ A Special Meeting will take place on Monday, August 24, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. at the Kyle Fire Department Station No. 1 located at 210 W. Moore St., Kyle, Texas 78640.
- 10. Adjourn.
 - ⇒ Meeting adjourned at 8:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hervol, Secretary HCESD No. 9