Hays County Emergency Services District No. 9 (HCESD No. 9) At Kyle Fire Department Station No. 1 210 W. Moore St., Kyle, Texas 78640 August 24, 2020 – 6:30p.m.

Special Meeting Minutes

1. Call to order, establish quorum:

- ⇒ The Special Meeting was called to order at 6:33 p.m. and a quorum was established with Commissioners Diane Hervol, Carla Sisk, Bruce Schneider, Chris Baker, and Roger Boyd in attendance.
- \Rightarrow President Roger Boyd called for a roll call to be taken:
 - Roger Boyd Here
 - Chris Baker Here
 - Carla Sisk Here
 - Bruce Schneider Here
 - Diane Hervol Here
- 2. Public Comment: In accordance with the Texas Attorney General's opinion, any public comment that is made on an item that is not on the published final agenda will only be heard by the Board of Commissioners. No formal action, discussion, deliberation, nor comment will be made by the Board of Commissioners. Individual members of the public may speak address the board for a maximum of three minutes on items not on the current agenda, for a collective total of fifteen minutes.

Members of the public will speak on agenda items after comments are called for by the presiding officer, but before Board discussion and consideration of the item. Individuals of the public may address the board for a maximum of three minutes per person per agenda item, for a collective amount of fifteen minutes per agenda item;

- \Rightarrow No public comments were offered at this time.
- 3. Consider taking action regarding budget for fiscal year October 1, 2020 to September 30, 2021;
 - ⇒ Motion by Chris Baker, seconded by Carla Sisk, to adopt the budget for fiscal year October 1, 2020 to September 30, 2021 as submitted.
 - \Rightarrow Secretary Diane Hervol read the Certificate for Resolution.
 - \Rightarrow President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
 - \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
- 4. Conduct a public hearing on the proposal to increase property taxes;
 - \Rightarrow Public hearing opened at 6:42 p.m.
 - \Rightarrow No public comments were offered at this time.
 - \Rightarrow Public hearing closed at 6:47 p.m.
- **5.** Take a record vote on the District's 2020 tax rate, adopt an Order Levying Taxes, authorize filing the Order with the Hays County Tax Assessor/Collector; and

- \Rightarrow Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Bruce Schneider, that the property tax rate be increased by the adoption of a tax rate of \$0.0598 per \$100, which is effectively a 6.24% increase in the tax rate.
- \Rightarrow President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
- \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
- \Rightarrow Order Levying Taxes was read by Secretary Diane Hervol.
- ⇒ Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Chris Baker, to adopt an Order Levying Taxes and authorize filing the Order with the Hays County Tax Assessor/Collector.
- \Rightarrow President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
- \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
- 6. Acknowledge and approve posting of statement regarding adopted tax rate to home page of District website.
 - ⇒ Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Diane Hervol to approve posting of statement regarding adopted tax rate to home page of District website as submitted.
 - \Rightarrow President Roger Boyd called for a roll call vote:
 - Diane Hervol Aye
 - Bruce Schneider Aye
 - Carla Sisk Aye
 - Chris Baker Aye
 - Roger Boyd Aye
 - \Rightarrow Motion passed (5-0).
- 7. Discuss time, place, date, and agenda items for next meeting; and
 - ⇒ A regular Meeting will take place on Wednesday, September 9, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. to be in line with the tax rate adoption calendar with location to be determined per COVID-19 pandemic restrictions.
- 8. Adjourn.
 - \Rightarrow Meeting adjourned at 7:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hervol, Secretary HCESD No. 9