## Hays County Emergency Services District No. 9 (HCESD No. 9)

Notice of Regular Meeting At Kyle Fire Department 210 W Moore Street, Kyle, Tx 78610 April 10, 2024 – 6:30p.m.

## Regular Meeting Minutes

- **1.** Call to order; establish quorum:
  - ⇒ The regular board meeting was called to order at 6:33 p.m. and a quorum was established with Commissioners Erin Abel, Carla Sisk, Raschell Jarden, and Diane Hervol in attendance.
- 2. Public Comment:
  - ⇒ Guest speakers Zach Phillips / EMS Union President and Greg Humphries Union Treasurer.
- 3. Discuss and consider action on the minutes of the March 13, 2024, regular meeting;
  - ⇒ Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Erin Abel, to approve the minutes of March 13, 2024, regular meeting.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
- 4. Discuss and consider action on treasurer's report, including the payment of invoices, reimbursements, and status of District's deposit of funds; (C. Sisk)
  - ⇒ Motion by Erin Abel, seconded by Raschell Jarden, to approve the treasurer's report, including the payment of invoices, reimbursements, and status of District's deposit of funds.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
- **5.** Review and approve the quarterly investment report for the 2<sup>nd</sup> quarter FY2023-2024;
  - ⇒ Motion by Erin Abel, seconded by Raschell Jarden, to approve the quarterly investment for the 2<sup>nd</sup> quarter FY2023-2024.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
- **6.** Review adopted Investment Policy and Investment Strategies and consider approval of resolution confirming annual review;
  - ⇒ Table item for next board meeting.
- Discuss and consider action on revised FY 23-24 Budget;
  - ⇒ No discussion held nor action taken.
- **8.** Discuss and consider action on National EMS staff appreciation week gift bags for SMHCEMS during the week of May 19-25,2024;
  - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Erin Abel, to approve National EMS staff appreciation week gift bags for SMHCEMS with a spending limit not to exceed \$3,000.00.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
- **9.** Discuss and consider appreciation gifts for former Commissioners Bruce Schneider, Roger Boyd and Christopher Baker;
  - ⇒ Motion by Erin Abel, seconded by Carla Sisk, to approve appreciation gifts for former Commissioners Bruce Schneider, Roger Boyd, and Christopher Baker not to exceed \$350.00.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion approved (4-0).
- 10. Discuss and consider approval of Strategic Plan and adoption of long-term strategic goals.
  - ⇒ No discussion held nor action taken.

- **11.** Receive monthly report from Chief Smith with SMHCEMS regarding emergency operations, response times, call volume, training, management activities, and membership;
  - ⇒ Presentation by Chief Smith, Pam Reynolds, and Kayla Cochran.
  - ⇒ Discussion held with no action taken.
- **12.** Discuss meeting of ESD5 and ESD9 subcommittee regarding EMS residency and buildout of KFD station #24 and take action if necessary;
  - ⇒ Discussion held with no action taken.
- **13.** Discuss and consider action regarding District's strategic planning for the District related to financial and operational projections, including review of projected growth in revenue, population, service demand, impact on response times and provision of service, and public education initiatives and take any related action;
  - ⇒ Motion by Erin Abel, seconded by Raschell Jarden, to approve the list of text messages provided by Touchstone Services.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
  - ⇒ Motion by Erin Abel, seconded by Raschell Jarden, to approve the (3) Election documents with marked changes:
    - ⇒ What is an ESD
    - ⇒ Frequently asked questions (FAQ)
    - ⇒ Proposition Election Summary
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
- 14. Discuss time, place, date, and agenda items for next meeting; and
  - ⇒ HCESD No. 9 will hold a Regular Board Meeting on Wednesday, May 8, 2024, at 6:30 p.m., at SMHCEMS, Clovis Barker #10B, San Marcos, Tx 78666.
- 15. Adjourn.

⇒ The meeting was adjourned at 8:16 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hervol, President, HCESD No. 9